A random act of kindness from a McDonalds employee 


Last night, I was about to cook dinner when my 5 year old asked if we could have McDonald’s, I thought why not! I couldn’t be bothered to cook anyway so it didn’t take much persuading. I left my daughter and Mr Secret Blog at home and off we went to get burgers and chips. 

We went to the drive through and the queue was HUGE. It looked like a lot of people couldn’t be bothered to cook dinner either. After getting to the front we had our order taken and moved on to the next window to pay. 

I used the contactless option on my card to pay, beep it was declined! I was mortified, I said to the guy at the till ‘I definitely have money on this card there is no reason for it to decline?’ He signed and explained he’d had problems all day with the machine and to put my card in and use the pin option. Beep declined again. I was so embarrassed I kept saying ‘I promise you there is no reason for my card to be declined’ he was as nice as pie and told me ‘don’t worry I’m sure it’s the machine let me try and reboot it’ while he was doing this we chatted a bit, I said I felt really bad for the people waiting behind and he said ‘ignore them, right now you are my only customer and it’s not your fault.’ He even took the time to say hello to my little boy, he was clearly a tad stressed with the situation but he was still lovely to me and I really appreciated that. 

After a lot of trying new things and back and forth it came about that none of their machines were working. I told the guy behind the till I felt really bad for him as it wasn’t his fault and that I bet a lot of people had been rude to him about the system being so temperamental that day. He said thay had been and that it was nice I wasn’t one of those people. 

He shouted out to the people working taking orders from the cars that it was cash only now and the card machine wasn’t working. I tried not to look too disappointed as I knew there would be tears from my little man sitting next to me, the guy at the till smiled and said ‘nope don’t worry, your getting your order! Go onto the next window you can have it for free.’ I was so surprised I didn’t know how to react, but I gave him a huge smile and a big thank you as I drove off. 

He gave me our £24 order for free! 

It was so nice and kind as he really didn’t need to do that, but I really appreciated his kind gesture. It’s never happened to me before and it probably never will again but it made me realise that good karma does come back around!

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X 

24 comments

  1. Aw that is nice, my girlfriend used to work for McDonald’s and she says that the employee would have had to pay for that himself unless he has a really nice manager who would allow him to comp that order as it is against company policy to do such things so big respect to the guy! I’ve worked in fast food myself and people can be and are very rude sometimes! They just see us as servants not people..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

