Holiday in the UK *stupid weather* The risk you will take!!! 


We’re off on holiday soon, heading down to the sea side for a week away of fun and silliness. I’m so looking forward to it, but there is one thing that could fuck the whole week up. 

The British weather 

It is soooooo unpredictable we have no idea how it’s going to go.

You could have a week of glorious sunshine, the kind of weather you can trick yourself into believing your abroad, basking in the sun on a Spanish beach hundreds of miles from home.

You could have a week of torrential rain, so cold that it cuts your skin and seeps through to your underwear in seconds. To keep the children occupied in this weather costs a fortune as it’s all indoor activities you have to pay for. No parks, no beach, just crappy rain and wellies.

You could have ‘in the middle’ weather. Slightly humid, no sunshine. Just dull, dreary boring weather. It’s nice enough you can go outside, but there’s no pretending your abroad or going in the sea. 

You could have a combination of all 3. This can be a good thing and a bad thing. It’s great if you get that one sunny beach day, but then again it’s heart breaking when it goes back to crappy rain again! And if you have something else planned on the sunny day, you can miss your beach day all together and be filled with regret.

What I’m trying to say is, save up and go abroad!!!! I’m sick of UK holidays, purely because of the weather. It stressed me out that it’s even an issue. I know we’re lucky that we’re even getting some time away, as I know a lot of people can’t, but I’m desperate to go abroad! I love the airport, the plane, the heat, the excitement of it. My youngest is DYING to go on a plane (he went on one as a baby but doesn’t remember it obviously) which is far more thrilling than a two hour drive away in my big mummy car. As a child I was lucky enough to have two holidays a year and I feel sad for my kiddies that I’m not showing them the world. I’m going to work as hard as I can to keep bringing money in and hope I can figure something out for next year. 

Are you going away anywhere nice this year? I’d love to hear in the comments below!

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X  

14 comments

  1. It’s so typical of the British weather that when the school holidays start, down comes the rain. I even had to dig my jumper out the other day that I haven’t worn since March/April. It’s no good planning anything around the UK climate, it’s a case of taking a look each day. Hope the sun shines when you take that break!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate to say this but cold rain sounds wonderful. In South Texas we have one 102* day after another with boiling humidity. Everything, including the miserable people is parched beyond belief. I pray that the weather is lovely for your holiday though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Where are you off to? We are going to Butlins in Skegvegas next week and I’ve been obsessing over the weather – I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some sunshine but you never know.
    I’m desperate to take my daughter abroad too but the hubby is nervous about taking her on a plane – I think that he thinks she will scream for the entire flight and piss everybody off! I’m going to let her pick where she wants to go next year though and try my hardest to get her there, he will just have to deal with it lol.
    Hope you have a great time on your holidays x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My husband and I are not vacationing this year, but next year we hope to fly to the West Coast (USA) and rent a car & drive it back, stopping at different sights along the way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I LOVE crappy British weather, and the beach is the perfect place for it. Who wants raging hot sunshine burning you to a crisp and exhausting you in five minutes when you can have cool, drizzly rain to help uncover beautiful pebbles and shells, and tiny little crab pools where you can watch the sea life you’d never normally see. I used to take my kids down to the seaside on rainy days to watch the waves smashing into the beach, and collect the long, slimy lengths of seaweed to drag up the beach and make a picture with. Sand castles are easier to make in the rain and sand angels surrounded by welly boot prints are brilliant fun to make, especially when you can sign your name and it won’t get washed away for ages.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve just been on my first proper holiday and went to Salou, Spain. I definitely agree – the British weather is just too unpredictable (and usually naff) to bank on a good holiday – but it is possible. I paid less for a package holiday for a week in early July all inclusive than I would have paid to stay somewhere in the UK, which is crazy. I hope, really really hope, you get the best of the weather the seaside has to offer and that you have a wonderful break regardless!
    Caz 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you had a lovely holiday! I adore Spain!! Im thinking next year of taking the kids out of school to go abroad as we would save a tonne of money, only thing is we’d b fined £240 for the privilege! We would save money but then again 240 is a lot for us to come up with on top of a holiday. So annoying schools have stared fining. Thank you for ur warm wishes 😘 xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

