Don’t you love it when people surprise you?


I’m going to be brutally honest here, today’s blog post was going to be ‘counting how many times my mum has a dig at me in one afternoon.’ This afternoon my parents hosted a big family barbecue for my birthday, having the interesting relationship I have with my mother, I thought it would be entertaining content. I was beyond surprised she gave me nothing. There wasn’t a single jab that was blog post worthy!! In fact it was one of the nicest afternoons I think we’ve ever had. 

The food was scrummy, everyone was drinking wine, chatting, laughing…it was lovely. My other half drove so I could drink, I don’t usually drink in the day so that was a fun change. I also met my brothers girlfriend for the first time (My brothers girlfriends are bitches) and I actually liked her!!!! Shock horror!! She was nothing like the others, she was confident but not cocky, she spent time playing with my children and made a big effort with them which is HUGE brownie points in my book. She bought me an orchid for my birthday which was really sweet of her and she seemed like a nice normal girl. She chatted with everyone and we had fun taking the piss out of my brother.

Next weekend when I’m out with the girls for my birthday she’s going to come with my brother for a drink to say hello. I’m so pleased I don’t hate her, my brother asked me what I thought when I was on my own, I told him I liked her and he said ‘good as long as your nice to her’ to which I said ‘of course!’ I got a funny hmmm face off him but I was being honest I did like her. I’m not in love with her or anything but I’m looking forward to getting to know her, I think she’s going to be really good for my brother. 

How’s your day been? I would love to hear what you’ve been up too in the comments below! As you all know I love a good chat.

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X 

21 comments

  1. Great to read that you had a really good time with your family, and that your brother’s girlfriend is safe… for now. 😀

    No, I don’t love it when someone surprises me. I get paranoid and suspicious, and wonder what they’re up to. Most especially my mother. If she’s not taking digs at me, I want to know what’s wrong with her.

    I’ve had too many ‘surprises’ that have been awful, hence I’m not a surprise kind of person. Unless my son’s turned up on the doorstep for a visit… that would be nice. If they’d brought their father, that wouldn’t be nice. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well let’s see… What have I been up to? Nothing. No, that’s not right. It’s been an “old man Sunday.” I’ve been writing, finding new songs on Pandora, playing with the dogs. Old man stuff 🙂 Aren’t you glad you asked? lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like you’re having wonderful birthday celebrations so far! Hope you have fun out drinking 😀 It’s my 25th birthday on Friday. I’m going with my husband for some nice lunch in a vegan-friendly restaurant. My parents are coming round for a visit the day after and that’s about it. I’ve been excited to open my main birthday present which is a high-speed blender, ours is crap! Love this time of year as we always go out a lot for birthdays. It’s mine this week, my father in laws next week, my husbands the week after. We have lot’s of summer birthdays in our family x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

