My brothers girlfriends are bitches


I have sometime on my mind this week, (today is a ‘get it off my chest’ post day) on Sunday I shall be meeting my brothers new girlfriend. My brother is 25 and at university, his girlfriend is 29 and also at university. She is a few months younger than myself and according to my brother and mum, she is lovely. It’s my family birthday barbecue for my 30th, I am looking forward to it but I’m also worrying about is meeting this girl.

Every girlfriend my brother has ever had has ended up being a bitch, absolutely stunning girls, but bitches, sorry it’s true. It always starts well, with me thinking what a sweet girl, I will then over time slowly start to hate them. It’s an unhealthy pattern I’m really trying to break!!! 

The last girlfriend started very positively, but as my brother kept coming to me with their issues and how she made him feel like crap and that he wasn’t good enough for her…the hate kicked in. I thought I hid my hatred relatively well, but recently my mum told me this was far from true and that it was screaming obvious that I hated her and that she was well aware of this fact. Whoops. 

My brother can be an idiot, he’s preachy and thinks he knows everything but he’s a really good guy with a good heart. I think he deserves a girl that can see that. I know he’s no angel, in fact he can be a right fuck up and I get so frustrated with him for some of the choices he makes. So logically I should understand who ever he’s dating at the times frustrations, but when it comes to it, I don’t!!! Even if I agree with them I still don’t like them! 

This time I’m making a huge effort to like her, to try and get to know her and be a grown up about it. Instead of a nasty teenager, which is how I can act, it’s embarrassing after but I can’t control it very well. I’m know because she’s my age I won’t see her as a stupid little girl, she’s a grown woman not some 20 year old he’s sleeping with when he’s bored. 

She sounds interesting and pretty normal compared to some of the other girlfriends. So I’m putting on my big girl knickers and have decided to behave myself. I will slap a smile on, I will have idle casual chit chat, I will be the polite adorable self I know is deep down in there somewhere! I also think I need to either tell my my brother not to come to me with their problems or if he does come to me with their problems I need to not let it impact what I think of her. Yet again I need to be a grown up!! What also is incredibly hypocritical is that by my acting the way I was, I was in fact being a bitch too.

Do you have issues with siblings partners?! I would love to hear your juicy stories in the comments below!

Ps. The picture on this post is me taking the piss out of myself!!! 

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old 

X X X X X 

12 comments

  1. My sister is younger and she had a lovely boyfriend for many years until she ended it. Now she’s dating some vegan overly-politically-correct (“the disability pride is insulting to people with disabilities”) bisexual guy who one minute tells her hes into her, the next that he can’t possibly commit. *sigh*

    Fingers crossed all goes well – let’s hope this one’s a keeper!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He’s your little brother, if you hate his girlfriend you have every right to show it.
    Everybody needs somebody to bring their problems to, for advice or just as a sounding board and a different perspective. If your brother tells you his girlfriend’s being a pain, ask him in what way and consider that she might be behaving that way because of something he’s doing. Or perhaps she is just a massive bitch.! 😀 My brother had the same girlfriend for as long as I can remember, and married her. I don’t not like her, but I avoid them as much as I possibly can.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

