“Why do you blog and do you have hopes for where it will take you? Has blogging given you something you weren’t expecting?”


This is a post I was thinking about writing, but when The dirty talking star dancer asked me this very question in my Q&A it’s given me the push I needed to actually write it.

I started this blog as I was itching to write and be creative again. Before this I actually had a beauty blog (Beauty blogging destroyed my love of makeup (what I have learnt)) but that wasn’t hitting the spot in any way shape or form, it lost its magic pretty quickly. I did stick at it for a long time but it wasn’t making me happy. Close people to me thought I was stupid stopping something that was going so well but my heart wasn’t in it anymore. So I decided to write about what I know; my life and my experiences. I wanted to make people laugh and touch people’s hearts, giving them hope and someone to relate to. I kept it anonymous so I could really pour my hear and soul into it. This was the best thing I could of done.

I have no inhibitions about my content, if I want to write something, I do. I don’t have to worry about anyone judging me or gossiping about me. It’s exactly what I want it to be. I was hoping I would find this type of blogging therapeutic, it’s been just that, and more. I feel like I am actually reaching people, which is an amazing feeling.

I started this blog not thinking too far in the future, just writing about whatever I want. Through this blog it’s made me remember how passionate I am about writing and how badly I would love to do this for a living. Recently I have started writing a book, I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying it. The words are pouring out of me and it’s on my mind constantly. Even though I’m the one writing it, with every twist and turn I add to the story I’m so excited to see what’s going to happen next. I’m so proud of it so far.

Blogging has helped me put my demons to rest, things from the past I didn’t even realise were still floating around my head. I once said in a post that by writing about it and sending it off into the world it felt the same as writing it on paper, putting it in a ballon and sending it off into the sunset. It’s been liberating and cleansing.

What has blown me away the most out of all of this has been the overwhelming support of you. The likes, the follows, the comments, it’s been mind blowing. I had no idea if anyone would even read what I had to say but to have nearly 500 followers and nearly 3000 views this month has left me speechless. Reading your comments offering support and sharing your stories has brightened my world.

Thank you to every single one of you for all of your support you have no idea the impact you have all had in my life.

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X

16 comments

  1. This is a great answer to this question. Blogging what ever you want is like saying to the world fuck it, this is me, don’t interrupt me, I have something to say. For me it’s the same thing. Thank you for having this courage and giving it to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I started another blog first, because I needed to get things out of my system. I have spent years poisoning myself with what if’s, and recriminations, and doubts about myself, and the more it went around in my head the more depressed I got. So I started writing, and kept it all private, until a friend asked why I didn’t publish.? I didn’t think anyone would be that interested in reading about my crappy life, but I was told it could inspire others to write about their’s, and help them heal and move on, so I changed the settings and published. Then the blog started to go all over the place, details didn’t link up right, dates were wrong, I started to forget where things happened. So I edited every post and removed all the things that weren’t relevant to the domestic side of my life, and put them in another blog (the one you’re now reading), and spent some time reminiscing and remembering the wild, crazy goof-ball teenager I used to be before I became the uber organised, dominating, scary bad-ass I apparently am now (according to my son). 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s amazing, and for the record I’m loving reading ur story. I never thought people would be interested in what I had to say either but the world loves the under dog! I think your life sound fascinating and I’m really enjoying reading about it xxxx you also write beautifully which helps 😜

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you’ve found this outlet for your creativity. Sometimes ya run into a cook or waitress or mechanic or doctor and think; “Boy, this person should find a new career. It doesn’t suit him.” Blogging seems to suit you. Rock On!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s why I like your blog, you write from the heart, you don’t care what people are going to think or say, you welcome it. That’s why it’s so good, the follows, the “likes”. The fact that it has helped you is the MOST important thing. If no one read it but it has helped you, then it is worth it. Glad you found me or I found you, I don’t know how it happened but I thoroughly enjoy reading your blog 🙂 How exciting you are writing a book, and you know it’s good when, you, the author can’t wait to see what’s next 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well said! I am blogging for the same reasons, although not an ominously. I might start a secret “tell all” blog one day, but for now I just tell stories about funny, strange and/or scary things that have happened to me. Thanks for your post, it was really well written!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love that your blog can be about anything and everything.

    I blogged for a long time about raising a child with an undiagnosed chromosome disorder, until my son asked me to stop writing about him. But I missed it. I feel better when I write. I got back into the habit earlier this year when my quest to get fitter, mentally and physically, gave me a theme. But I blog about whatever is on my mind at the time. I worry that I don’t give it enough time, and I feel guilty when I haven’t had the chance to read other peoples blogs for a few days, but I try not to worry too much about likes and follows. That people do like it has increased my confidence, that “not too many” like it eases the pressure on me!

    I’d love an anonymous blog. I tried to make mine anonymous when I restarted, but I’m part of a community fitness initiative which I’ve blogged about, and the people from there all know its me, which is a weird feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh wow, i find it amazing how many people have different blogs for different things and topics. I bet it was really therapeutic writing about your son but I also understand y he wouldn’t want you to as well. Don’t put pressure on yourself it’s all part of the fun!
      I felt huge pressure with my old beauty blog and I totally lost the love for it, long story I did blog about it though on this blog. So now I’ve left the beauty one and started this one, I told myself when I started that there was no pressure over here, I can write what I feel when I want. No up loading schedule, not companies to please, no products to review, no time restraints… just doing what I want to do! Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

