Annoying things about my children


If you are familiar with my blog you will know I have a series ‘Annoying things about…’ which covers a variety of topics. I feel I must warn you now ‘Annoying things about my children’ will definitely be a series within a series here on my blog. I have a 4 year old boy and a 9 year old girl therefore I’m fully qualified to moan about children!! Today has been one of ‘those days’ and I feel the need to vent! I do want to say although I am ranting I love my children to death and wouldn’t swap them for the world. They drive me crazy but they are my everything ❤️

I have not had a poo by myself since 2007

Children seem to have a toilet radar, the very second I decide I’m going to the toilet they will appear from the depths of their bedrooms or wherever the hell they were hiding to pester me. If I have to say “can I wipe myself in peace please” one more time I’m going to explode, even my neighbours are sick of hearing me shout this.

They are constantly hungry 

No matter how much I feed them, no matter how much I stuff their little faces within half an hour I will hear “Mum I’m hungrrrry” you would think I stave them the amount they moan about being hungry. If I offer them an apple it’s no no no I don’t want that, well you can’t be that hungry then can you! I dread the school holidays as I know my food shopping bill will triple on snacks alone. (More on that here Annoying things about the school holidays)

The moaning 

Dear lord my kids know how to moan, about everything “I’m too hot, I’m too cold, I’m hungry, I’m too full, I’m thirsty, he’s touching me, she’s not sharing, I want to sit in the front of the car, I want to sit in the back of the car, I want my turn on the tv, I want my iPad, I’m bored, I want to go to the park, I’m too tiered I want to go home….” I could literally keep doing that impression for days. The moaning never ends.

They can’t find anything themselves

I feel this applies to my boyfriend too but we’ll stick to the kids for now. I spend a good 40% of my life looking for homework books, shoes, juice bottles, transformers, bouncy balls, that certain tshirt they ‘have’ to wear, their favourite cuddly toy, pencil cases, coats….this is another list that can go on forever!

They interrupt constantly 

Grrrr I go crazy over this one, no matter how many times I tell them not to interrupt as it is bloody rude they are incapable, purely incapable of keeping their little mouths shut. They talk over me, their dad, family, friends, strangers, customers of mine…..they really don’t care who it is!!!! I will loose my mind weekly about this, especially to my 9 year old as she knows better. It makes them look like feral children with no manners!

I would LOVE to hear in the comments below what you find annoying about your children! Let’s share the stress in this secret blog!

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X

35 comments

  1. When I was young my brother and I got into a whining fight in the back seat of the car, culminating in me wailing, ‘HE’S BREATHING MY AIR!’. My mother just about lost her shit! We weren’t allowed to talk to each other in the car for months after that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I may not have any kids, but I do have Max, and can relate to most everything you have mentioned. Max has not allowed me to “poop by myself” since 2015. He is constantly hungry and wanting food or a treat. He likes to bark (moan) all the time and wants to be outside chasing frisbee or playing in water. He can never find all his toys, when often times they are under the bed, or behind a door. He is just too lazy to look for them. Lastly, he interrupts constantly when I’m on the phone or have a friend over. Constantly wanting my attention, yet was fine until I received a phone call or had friend visit.

    In short, my 2yr old Max is exactly like an annoying child whom I dearly love to death.

    Mike

    Liked by 1 person

    • I LOVE this! I’m also sorry to say I didn’t realise max was a dog 😂 so I’m pleased I know that now!! Love how all this ties in with what I was winging about, the bit that made me laugh the most was my kids r the same when I’m on the phone or have someone over! They don’t bother with me for ages but heaven forbid anyone else gets my attention lol xxx

      Like

  3. How about this, one day a week, or if that’s too often, one day a month, tell them it’s your day. They are to fend for themselves on that day, if they are hungry they will have to figure out what to eat, and if you tell them you are hungry they have to feed you. Reverse the roles, you be them and let them be you. Have them pick out what you are to wear that day (don’t make plans to leave the house). Let them plan the meals and make them, if you want them to read you a book they have too. If you want to play a game they have to play it with you. It’s whatever you want and however you want to spend the day, day! Could be lots of fun for all involved. Good luck. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The joys of motherhood. I can relate. My two sons were constantly moaning, and complaining about being hungry, and thirsty, and bored etc, etc. Thankfully, I got to use the bathroom and have a shower on my own, but finding things for them was the bane of my life when they were younger, and like you, my husband was just as bad. Even if what they were looking for was right in front of their faces, waving it’s arms and screaming “I’m here, I’m here.!” they’d still miss it completely, and come whining to me that they couldn’t find it. Muuuuuuuuuumm.! Muuuuuuuuuuuumm.! MUUUUUUUUUUUUUMM.! MUMMY.! Mum.! Mum.! MOTHER.!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have one dog and thought maybe I would want a second, but don’t think I could handle another spoiled brat. Kinda the same thing.. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My son is 16 and have been going through this issue for years. No matter what I ask him to do, he always wants to do it when he’s ready to do it. I tell him “the TV has a pause button” and “if I wanted it done in 10 min/ a half hour, ECT, I’d ask you to do it then. I’m asking you to do it now because I want it done NOW” ..ughhh.. good luck! 🙋🐦

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Literally agree with all of this, my kids are exactly the same 😂 love them to bits but my god they drive me batshit sometimes! I had my youngest shove me eldest down the loo whilst my eldest was using it the other day 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

