My Slimming world Syn essentials!! (Part one)


If I want a successful slimming world week there are a few syn’ed items I just have to have in my cupboards. These items stop me from going off track and are something to look forward too. I try and be syn free all day so I can have a munch in the evening, that way I don’t feel left out when my other half eats his weight in mars bars and malteasers!! 

Options Belgium choc mint hot chocolate

These are life savers in a packet! If after lunchtime I have a quiet afternoon, and all I want to do is binge on chocolate I’ll make myself a hot chocolate. They’re really sweet (even sweeter after adding two sweetness!) it takes me a while to drink and actually fills me up a bit. At 2 syns I think it’s well worth it, this leads on to my next essential…

Flumps

Flump marshmallow chopped into tiny pieces in the hot chocolate is GORGEOUS. It turns into a gooey stick sweet yummy mess. Flumps are 2 syns so with the hot choc its 4 but lasts way longer than anything else that has 4 syns so it’s worth it.

Curly whirly 

This isn’t something I would usual eat when I’m not dieting, but when I am it’s beautiful. I can’t believe they’re only 6 syns! I can really take my time eating them too and as they look big it tricks my mind that it’s a huge treat. 

Low fat mayo & low sugar and salt ketchup

Half the syns of the regular sauces these are a staple in my house. I used the mayo for my wrap at lunch and the ketchup for making BBQ pulled pork and dipping at dinner time. 

Panko bread crumbs

This is quite a random one but a good one. They’re light Japanese breadcrumbs. I use these to make my own low syn-high flavour breaded chicken. There are tonnes of recipes you can adapt using these breadcrumbs to lower the syns. I whiz mine up in a blender with loads of spices before dipping the chicken in egg then the bread crumb mixture. Even my fussy family like these so they are part of our weekly meal plan now!

Low fat sour cream

I bloody love sour cream I can eat it with literally anything. However it’s packed full of syns so I’ve started buying a low fat version. I’ll like it with fahijta wraps and over chilli, it’s lower syns that cheese and makes me feel like I’m not missing out. I also use it to make a peppercorn sauce with steak by putting a dollop in the pan, heating it up slowly and added ground pepper, makes my veggies taste better too.

I hope you enjoyed part one of my slimming world essentials, if you’d like to read part two please hit that follow button to stay notified! I’d love to hear in the comments below your favourite syn’d foods.

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X 

6 comments

Leave a Reply

