Why is the kitchen not the kitchen room?! 


This post is a bit strange, but then again I’m sure there’s no surprise there! I was thinking that every room in the house has the word “room” at the end of it. You have bedrooms, bathrooms, living rooms, dining rooms….what about the kitchen? 

My other half thinks it stems from ye olden times where the kitchen was considered a place for the maids and cooks etc so it wouldn’t of been classed as a room. This does kinda make sense but it still strange. 

The kitchen is the heart of our home it’s the most used room by far, and I felt sorry for it not being classed as a ‘room’ so I decided to start calling it the kitchen room. Sadly this lasted about 20 minutes as I kept forgetting but I give myself a good B+ for effort.

Do you know any more about this topic?! 

I’d love to hear in the comments below!

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X 

10 comments

Leave a Reply

