What I love about slimming world and what I hate about weight watchers (oooo controversy!) 


I want to start with a disclaimer (as most things do now a days) I am not saying that slimming world is the answer for everyone, I am not saying that weight watchers is crap, I’m simply talking about what does and doesn’t work for myself personally and my take on the battle of the diet clubs. 

Years ago I was a weight watcher girl, it worked for me, I lost all the weight. I didn’t keep it off but I don’t blame weight watchers for that, let’s just say anti psychotics and pregnancy were not my friends! 

So this time round, with 3 times more weight than I had to loose before, I joined weight watchers. But unlike last time, it was not a breeze. I was hungry, all the time.  Food became an obsession (again) and I was miserable. I felt like at times I was staving myself, and for very little result. At my weight the pounds should of been dropping off, but they were creeping off. I was disappointed every time I stepped on the scales. I found it so hard to stick to, and knowing that once I had run out of points all I could have was fruit and veg made me feel anxious, I didn’t see what was wrong with having a chicken breast and some salad. Being as big as I was it wasn’t enough to get me through the day. So in the end after months of trying I gave up. 

My friend suggested slimming world, I had tried it before but wasn’t overly keen. As desperate times call for desperate measures I thought fuck it why not. Giving it a go was one of the best desisions I had ever made. I stuck to it for a month and a half before I broke and had a takeaway pizza, and the next day I got right back on it. It’s made me see that food is not the enemy, it all depends on what food your eating. 

I started off by eating loads as I think most people do because your allowed too. I lost 8 pounds in my first week. I was gobsmacked to say the least!! As I started to relax into my new eating habits, and knowing that if 4 o’clock I was starving I can have a mullet light for free or a big chunk of chicken, it’s become second nature. My portions have gotten smaller over time too, but knowing that if I want a big dinner, I can have a big dinner as long as it’s the right thing is so liberating! 

I know so many people who have succeeded with weight watchers and slimming world it’s such a personal thing. For greedy guys like me I’ve found the perfect one! 

Which team are you on? I’d love to hear your comments below!

The Secret Blog of a 30 Year Old

X X X X X  

Leave a Reply

